Easy Homemade Granola

I love breakfast! We all hear it’s the most important meal of the day and I definitely believe this is true! I especially find that as a college student, I need the fuel of a good breakfast to get me going in the morning. I also know that as a college student, I’m usually rushed in the morning so I look for something quick and easy. Many students buy a sugary pastry or bagel and a coffee on campus every morning but doing this everyday sure adds up! This daily habit leaves you with an empty wallet and often times, an empty stomach after about an hour.

However,  for an occasional splurge and treat, there are some great restaurants around the Tempe area that offer some tasty breakfast choices that I would recommend. One of my favorites is Chompies. Their omelets are to die for and I recently tried their crunchy granola pancakes. I’ve never been much of a pancake fan but the sound of fresh whole grain granola mixed into their house scratch batter sounded too good to pass up. The crunch of the granola in the pancakes was great and I was definitely impressed. However, packaged granola at grocery stores tends to be very expensive so as tempting and delicious as all the variations look, I always put it back on the shelf and purchase my usual cold cereal (I love Kashi’s line of cereals-Heart to Heart and Honey Sunshine are my personal favorites). I have a solution though! Make your own granola at home! It may sound complicated but it’s really not.

While visiting the parents back home in the frigid state of Minnesota for Christmas, my mom taught me how to make delicious homemade granola. This recipe makes several servings and it stays good for a couple weeks so it will save you trips to the grocery store and lots of money! Here is the recipe:

5 cups of rolled oats
1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1/3 cup honey

optional:

cinnamon

ground flaxseed meal

Preheat oven to 350.
First, measure the oats into a big bowl.  Put the brown sugar, the oil, and honey in a saucepan. Mix and heat together until boiling and combined. Tip: if you measure the oil first, then the honey won’t stick to the measuring cup as much! Add the combined liquids to the oats and mix thoroughly.  Spread on a large, greased cookie sheet (jellyroll pan – a cookie sheet with one inch sides).  Bake for 20 minutes. Tip: Stir once or twice for even browning.  Then, I like to add a sprinkle of cinnamon before baking sometimes and then about 2 Tbsp. of ground flaxseed meal when the granola comes out of the oven.  Stir to combine which also helps keep the granola from sticking to the pan as much!  Tip: don’t wait too long or the flaxseed won’t stick to the granola.  Cool and store in an airtight container.

Sounds easy, right? And I guarantee you will love the sweetness and crunch of this simple recipe. It also beats paying about $5 for a small bag at the store. I’ve also that found that eating granola in the morning satisfies my hunger much better than just cereal (and it’s definitely much more hearty than a pop tart!). If you don’t like eating granola on its own or are looking for ways to incorporate it into other foods, here are my suggestions: sprinkle the granola over vanilla yogurt (greek yogurt is the best-I’m really wanting to try Fage), top some on ice cream or on a banana spread with peanut butter (check out PB & Co’s line which are absolutely delicious!) Finally, I recently tried this vanilla almond milk and it pairs nicely with granola! You can try making your own homemade vanilla almond milk with this recipe. What are some of your favorite ways to eat granola?

So instead of dreading waking up early for class, fall asleep dreaming of your amazing bowl of granola in the morning! I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I do! I’ve found some other granola recipes from other bloggers that sound great! Check them out: Homemade granola, Christie’s granolaNami-Nami Granola, Easy homemade granola and Granola.

3 responses to “Easy Homemade Granola

  1. Homemade granola is great! I also enjoy eating homemade muesli, which involves mixing uncooked oats with whatever toppings you enjoy. You might like:
    shredded coconut
    any kind of nut
    raisins/other dried fruit

    Fage yogurt is amazing but expensive! I have recently just started making my own (non-greek) yogurt, which definitely cuts down on cost (organic milk is cheaper than organic yogurt, and you get more) and is really simple. All it involves is milk and a bit of plain yogurt, easy!

  2. It’s a genuine remedy for infertility problems.

  3. It’s going to be end of mine day, except before end I am reading this wonderful post
    to increase my knowledge.

Leave a Reply

