Butterscotch Breakfast!

I definitely have a sweet tooth, and if you are anything like me, it doesn’t matter what time of the day it is. As I mentioned in my previous post, I love muffins! My ideal breakfast definitely includes a sweet and savory muffin or pastry/donut. From reading other blogs, I’ve found what sounds like the most amazing donuts…EVER! They are called Holey Donuts and are low-fat and have NO artificial sweeteners. Their flavors sound too good to be true! I’m dying to try the Boston Creme Oreo Cookie, Raspberry Graham Cracker¬†and Vanilla Frosted Boston Creme! Oh my! However, I’m on a budget, like many college students, so I need to try and save money in any way that I can. Making your own breakfast muffins/cookies is a great alternative!

Of course, it’s always fun to treat yourself to a fresh bakery roll or pastry once in awhile (Wildflower Bread Company is a must-stop in the Tempe area for great pastries!) but making your own muffins is cheaper and also healthier because you know exactly what ingredients you are eating! Another favorite recipe of my mom’s is her butterscotch chip breakfast muffins. They definitely cure any sweet tooth craving. I can guarantee they will bring a smile to your face and give you something to look forward to in the morning!

This recipe is very simple and easy and makes about 18 muffins (enough to last you through atleast a week of class-depending on if you can stop yourself from eating them!!!) Here is what you need:

3 cups flour

1/4 cup sugar

1 tbsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

2 large eggs

1 cup milk

1/2 cup butter

2 cups butterscotch chips

Directions: In a large bowl combine flour, sugar, baking powder and salt. In a medium bowl whisk eggs, milk and melted butter. Pour liquid ingredients into dry ingredients. Add butterscotch chips. Stir. (Tip: Stir until just mixed.) Spoon batter evenly into 18 greased 2 1/2 inch muffin cups. Bake in a preheated 400 degree over for 20 minutes or until golden brown. Serve warm and enjoy!

I love to eat these as soon as they come out of the oven! The warm butterscotch chips melt right in your mouth! If you are interested in other sweet sounding breakfast muffin recipes, I’ve found some that I am looking forward to trying in the future! Pumpkin Cream Cheese Muffins, Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins, The Muffin Recipe, Coffee Cake Muffins, PB & J Muffins¬†and Chocolate Peanut Butter Muffins. Yum!

Leave a Reply

